The Steering Committee is responsible for Carequality’s strategic direction, and for the development and oversight of the Carequality interoperability framework.

The Steering Committee specifically has responsibility for:

  • Governing the work of Carequality to assure that the work group and Advisory Council activities are conducted in a manner consistent with Carequality’s vision and principles.
  • Manage the work of Carequality to maximize efficiency and effectiveness within an annual Carequality budget.
  • Establishing work groups and corresponding work group charters that define the work group composition, scope, deliverables and timeframes for completing its work.
  • Evaluating, prioritizing and adopting new Use Cases.
  • Seeking input and recommendations from the Carequality Advisory Council and other stakeholders, to assure broad stakeholder input.
  • Maintaining a definitive list of Use Cases and other deliverables, to assure clear versioning of such work, developed and maintained by Carequality.
  • Coordinating with standards development organizations, policy-related endeavors and other federal and industry initiatives to help align the standards and specifications employed by the Carequality with other like efforts.
  • Overseeing other centralized functions supported for Carequality.
  • Overseeing a process, as needed, to address questions or disputes regarding any Carequality deliverable.
  • Evaluating ongoing program effectiveness on a periodic basis and implement process improvements over time.

For more detailed information, please refer to the Carequality Governance Charter and the Carequality Steering Committee OPP.

The following individuals are the members of the Steering Committee:

Member Stakeholder Area
  • Nancy Beavin, Humana
  • Bill Beighe, Santa Cruz HIE
  • Steve Bounds, Social Security Administration
  • Hans Buitendijk, Cerner
  • Dr. Michael Hodgkins, American Medical Association (chair)
  • Kevin Isbell, Kaiser Permananente / Care Connectivity Consortium
  • Leslie Kelly-Hall, Healthwise
  • Andrew Kling, Geisinger
  • Rob Klootwyk, Epic
  • Dr. Steven Lane, Sutter Health (vice chair)
  • Geoff Lay, GE Healthcare
  • Kathy Lewis, Surescripts
  • Tushar Malhotra, eClinicalWorks
  • Aaron Seib, National Association for Trusted Exchange (NATE)
  • Ryan Stewart, Dignity Health
  • Payer
  • Network
  • Government Agency
  • Vendor
  • Physicians
  • Provider Organization
  • Consumer
  • Provider Organization
  • Vendor
  • Provider Organization
  • Vendor
  • Network
  • Vendor
  • Network
  • Provider Organization